Would like to add pre wetting, deicing or snow melting to my services list...Help?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by 93dakman, Aug 27, 2018.

1. 93dakman

93dakman Junior Member

Hi, I am an Civil Engineer that has a small pressure washing/house washing side business. I have a truck mounted tank and pumps for this, which could be used for the brine application. I would like to be able to do work during the freezing months, and I feel like the truck mounted equipment i have could expand my services to cover this. I know just enough about the subject to be dangerous.

Here is where I stand:

I would like to stay with residential sidewalks, porches, stairs and driveways. Possibly commercial sidewalks and entryways. Prewetting & ice/snow melt with brine mixture via hose/sprayer by manual application.

We have atv's with plows, but I do not want to become that involved, unless absolutely necessary. I do not want to spread rock salt either, due to needing to purchase more equipment.

Is there any sense in treading down this path, or will it just be wasted time in advertising with no calls?

2. cwren2472

cwren2472 PlowSite Fanatic

So, you want to do the manual applicating of the brine without offering any other snow removal services?

I think that would be a pretty small market that would be looking to hire you for that since they would still have to contract others for their snow removal needs.

3. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 PlowSite Fanatic

I am not 100% sure, but I don't think that running brine threw a pressure washer is a good idea.

BUFF, EWSplow, Mark Oomkes and 2 others like this.
  4. fireside

fireside PlowSite.com Addict

You will destroy your pressure washer system!!!! They are meant for clear water not to mention the salt.

I would think your plan would not work at all. Brine is very limited and is a tool not a end all. I realll could see why any one would want you to just spray walks

5. OP
    OP
    93dakman

93dakman Junior Member