Which salt spreader?

Hello all! New to this site. Im looking for some professional input. Ive been doing snow removal/salting now for 7 years. My business is now to the point were i need to upgrade from a tailgate salt spreader to a 2 cu. yd. in bed salt spreader. I have been doing much research and now probably more confused then before, lol. I have the Western Wide Out. Its about two years old. Love the plow. Its never given me a problem. So, when i started looking at the salt spreaders, the Western Tornado came to mind. After reading discussions on auger vs. pintle, I'm not sure as the tornado only comes in pintle and i believe that the auger style is much more reliable. However i really like the Tornado poly cover and the looks of it. So then i start looking at the Boss VBX8000. Nice unit! Then the Hiniker Unit. Its also nice. I will be spreading about 12-14 tons per season. So bottom line, which spreader will give me the least amount of issues, auger or pintle and poly or SS, gas is not an option, only electric. Will be installing this in a 2019 F350 SRW with 8' bed. Thanks in advance! Scott

JMHConstruction

PlowSite Fanatic
Pintle chain in your flavor of brand. If you're stuck on electric they're all pretty much equal other than saltdogg.
With only 12-14 tons a winter do you think the auger will be easier to maintain overall? Never had the auger, but not sure if I'd want to deal with the mess and maintenance I get from the pintle with that amount of salt.

OP, other than (what I believe to be bad luck, although at the time I was far from pleased) I like my VBX 8000. Has a lot of nice features, and gives a nice spread pattern. I had some issues, but after talking to a few different people it didn't seem common. Learn from my mistakes though, buy spare parts.

John_DeereGreen

PlowSite Fanatic