Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

· Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I get a call today from a place looking for another plow company for the rest of the season.

This is a commercial site with 3 acres of plowable blacktop.

I get asked if I have commercial insurance and I ask him if he is referring to General Liability insurance and the reply was insurance to plow a commercial site and they go on to say the company that had been plowing only had insurance to do residential driveways.

Whoops someone lied to their insurance company for lower rates and got caught.

I informed him as I do 99.9 percent all commercial that yes I have commercial insurance.

Funny thing is, this is the first year I didn't bid on this place as I had been placing bids on this place for the last 7 years with no luck -(now I know the company doing it was paying very low insurance rates and could bid a lot lower and beat my prices)

Meeting the gentleman in a few days to go over the site specs so maybe I will be picking this up after 7 years, which goes to show never give up and always put a bid in every year because you never know when opportunity will knock.

· Registered
7,298 Posts
Do you have room for it on your route?

Was there a recent s&f claim on the site?

I would scrutinize everything regarding that potential customer, as calls I've received mid season, I'm usually skeptical of the intent or reason for their immediate need.

Some folks want to be "first" on my route, and that honor goes to my long standing customers, and not any new additions. Some take offense when you tell them they're gonna be last on the already existing route, and find someone else

· Premium Member
17,046 Posts
I get asked if I have commercial insurance and I ask him if he is referring to General Liability insurance and the reply was insurance to plow a commercial site and they go on to say the company that had been plowing only had insurance to do residential driveways.