Snow Plowing Forum banner

v-plow help!!

4K views 32 replies 15 participants last post by  Deere John 
#1 ·
I am stuck with a hard situation here. The Boss 9' 2" and Western MVP 9' 6" are my finnalists but they both have some differences!

BOSS 9'2"

- Full triping
- heavier mouldboard 11gauge
- doesn't come with
rubber deflecter
- has joystick control
- no locking cylinders
for back draging

Western MVP 9'6"

- Triping edge
- mouldboard 12gauge
- comes with rubber deflecter
- has a hand held controler
- looks like it comes with
locking cylinders

There seems to be lots of talk on this board with v-plow operators being pleased with thier systems.

this is a hard dissition for me alone, any help with this topic would be highly appreciated.

[Edited by CHATAWAY on 12-23-2000 at 06:19 PM]

See less See more
#2 ·
This is my first year on my Boss 8', but I really do love it. The standard three switch controlls really are a natural, and it took no time to get the hang of them. The cylinders lock for back dragging, although I have a rear plow and never backdrag with the Boss.

Its built like a tank, and seems to hold up very well to the everyday abuse.

Flip a coin and go buy either one of them. You'll never regret it either way.

Once again, as everyone here has said before, go to the best dealer, that will be more important in the future than what name is on the front of the plow.

#4 ·
I would go with the closest dealer, if there was one!!!

the so called dealers here just order anything when needed no parts or plows in stock. Nice bussness hey, and the prices are no comparison to your areas ( $7000can for a v-plow and that is uninstalled $750 installation)

closest dealer that seems to know and stock product is over 1000kms away ( if I leave this afternoon should be back christmass morning!!!) and if something is missing for the install, it is not like running back to get the part. But I'm willing to take my chances...

thanks guys