Traction help Jeep: Snow tires, cables, chains or just more weight

Abouna

OK I've been doing our church parking lot, house, parents house and our medium size business lot for a few years with a 04 Jeep and a SnowDogg 7' plow. Works great for us because we have a lot of tight spots.

That said, If I don't have a chance to get on heavy snows right away, it's a lot of extra work moving all the snow with a relatively light vehicle. As we get near the end of winter and things have really piled up and the lot usually has at least a skim coat of hard pack on it (or ice) I really lose traction.

This year I'd like to improve it. As far as I can tell my options are:

snow tires and a set of rims ($1k, studded or not?)
cables (I have to drive 14 miles round trip daily to plow the different sites)
chains (again, the drive)
adding some weight (and where to add it?)

I have zero experience with snow tires and the rest. We live in Iowa and I have a lifetime of snow driving under my belt BUT it's all city driving so front wheel drive or AWD on all season radials has always been enough.

Hydromaster

PlowSite Fanatic
What I’m hearing is l, you have a need for a larger piece of machinery or a 3/4 or one ton truck to move the snow.

i plowed with the jeep and jeeps can gothrough a lot of stuff but you’re asking a lot of it.
and now you wanna ask more of it you add more traction more stress on the drive line.

And the answers to your question is yes .
my question is how much weight you have behind the rear axle now.
And model yr of jeep.

Yes to chains for all four, you don’t have to use them all the time.
yes, get the studded snow tires you want them all the time.
counter weight, To offset the weight of the plow and to gain traction with the rear axle the one that is suited the best to do most of the work.

Remember this is a job and your vehicle needs to be dependable so you can ensure your ROI

OP
A

Abouna

Well OK! First, it's an 04 Jeep wrangler. Inline 6.