1. Is Landscaping An “Essential Business” In Your Region?
    Read the timely article from Turf addressing this question. Click here to learn more.

COVID-19 Safety Procedures For Landscapers
    As you are working out in the field, maximize safety for you, your crews, and customers. Click here to learn more.

Dismiss Notice

Subcontract or not?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Jake's Lawn and Snow, Mar 21, 2020.

1. Hey everyone,
    Starting my company next winter. Spending the spring, summer, and fall working full time and saving up some money to buy what I need.
    I'm wondering what I should do. I have plenty of experience on sidewalks, in a plow truck, in a salt truck, and in a bobcat. Should I get my own clients right away, or should I sub out to a bigger company?
    If I get my own clients, it will likely cost me more money to start up, because I'll need a solid 3/4 ton or 1 ton with a plow.
    If I sub for just sidewalks, I could start with a lot less money. Save money on the truck by getting a 1/2 ton, shovels, and snow blowers.
    A friend of mine has his own business nearby, and he subbed out to a larger company for sidewalks, they paid him $35 hr per person. He led a 4 man sidewalk crew for about 10 miles of sidewalks. Not sure what he paid his crew though.
    Is that a good idea for me to start with?
    What do I need to know about subcontracting? How and when is it typically paid? How much is paid in south-central Wisconsin? (if anyone is around here)
    How much insurance will I need if I'm not plowing?
    I've already got prices for the equipment, and insurance. Just need a little advice from those that have their own company.

2. Fourteen Contracting Inc.

Fourteen Contracting Inc. Senior Member

If you were to get your own clients right away would they be commercial clients or residential clients?

3. OP
    OP
    Jake's Lawn and Snow

Jake's Lawn and Snow Member