Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Folks,

I am new to all this, so please give me some time to catch onto all the details, and get familiar with this website.

I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, so we are no stranger to snow. I am currently working a part-time job and starting college full-time later this month. I wanted to inquire about the possibility of starting my own snowplowing business, where I live we average 218 inches of snow.

A rough outline of my business plan is as follows:

Truck $20,000
Boss V-Plow $5,000
Extras (Lights, etc.) $1,000
1 Year of Commercial and General Liability Insurance $4,000

I am estimating my monthly expenses as the following:
Maintenance $420
Accounting $100
Fuel $500

What am I missing?

I want to know how many accounts you think I could handle (I am thinking just residential), and what you think my revenue, and profit would be. Also, what software is good for planning the routes, and keeping a log of times, conditions etc?

Here is the truck I was looking at: https://www.keweenawautomotive.com/.../Used-Truck/Houghton-MI/13098983/Details.aspx

· Super Moderator
10,617 Posts
Are you financing the truck or paying it all at once?

As far as how many drives you can handle would depend on how needy the customer is and your ability with your school schedule and seepy time/ down time, distance between accounts.
For planing routes, keeping track of customers, etc id start with excel and then venture into quickbooks.

Do you live there year round? Or are you going MI tech?

One thing about the UP versus everywhere else, the income is much lower as there’s nothing up there, even less in the winter.

It may be more advantageous and lucrative for you to contract with another company that is established up there, let them know your schedule etc.

As far as profit, plan on being in the negative your first year or couple years

· Registered
8 Posts