Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
1,812 Posts
I think the standard is 6", unless your running a municiple series. I just paid $83 or something close to that.

· Registered
1,171 Posts
I pay $140 now...I used to pay about $85 three years ago but my supplier said that steel have gone up drastically in the last few years. I personally think it's bullsh!t but what can you do? Chalk it up to the cost of doing business... :crying:

· Registered
2,128 Posts
i don't have any fishers but i have been using road grader edges for two years now and they wear great. just got an CAT 8' wed for $120. they are 6" and 5/8" thick and they will last three times as long. if you don't want to buy new you can usually find used ones for free or scrap price.

· Registered
487 Posts
If a person runs multiple plows here's what we do. I've contacted steel suppliers and have bought regular 6" x 1/2" steel stock. I cut it and drill holes using the old edge as template. I can buy grade 8 bolts cheaper than in a bolt "kit" from Western, Etc. Only problem is I cannot do the square punched holes so I have regular bolts in my blades. I cannot tell the difference when plowing-plow rolls snow just the same and I've saved over $35 per edge even after considering my time spent.

· Registered
2,128 Posts
Sno4U;485084 said:
If a person runs multiple plows here's what we do. I've contacted steel suppliers and have bought regular 6" x 1/2" steel stock. I cut it and drill holes using the old edge as template. I can buy grade 8 bolts cheaper than in a bolt "kit" from Western, Etc. Only problem is I cannot do the square punched holes so I have regular bolts in my blades. I cannot tell the difference when plowing-plow rolls snow just the same and I've saved over $35 per edge even after considering my time spent.
is the regular stock your buying high carbon steel? if not doesn't it wear out fast?

· Registered
7,845 Posts
NJ Plowman;462240 said: