Snow Plowing Forum banner

payment terms/ invoice billing

3K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Flipper 
#1 ·
This is my first year doing snow removal. Is there anyone that can help me with payment terms and invoice billing for a seasonal contract? Do I send the Association an invoice even if I dont go out to plow? Please Help!!!:waving:

#2 ·
Payment term/invoice billing

Welcome to the wonderful world of plowing....

Here is what I do for my seasonal contracts. Just to make things easy let use $1200.00 as the contract price for the season.

I take $1200.00 and divide it over 6 months. November to April

I invoice each customer on the 15th of each month for $200.00. So October 15 I invoice for $200.00 due November 1 then I invoice on the 15th of November due on the 1st of December and so on.

If for some reason I don't receive there cheque by the 1st of the month, I give a courtesy call. If the funds are not received by the 5th of the month service STOPS until I receive payment. If this happens more then twice, the the entire contract becomes due and payable immediately or service STOPS forever.

I have NEVER had to stop service, but I have had to wait a couple of days for payment. Hope this helps you out.

#4 ·
Really depends on how your contract is written. There are many ways to write a seasonal contract. For instance, most will provide service for up to a set number of trips. Then a "storm clause" kicks in. I have one that I will provide unlimited service for one price, even if I have to go there every day for six months. This one pays half up front and half by February 1st. Read your contract. It should spell out what service you are providing, how you are billing, the beginning/ending dates and trigger levels. Provisions for cleanups, etc.

#5 ·
Payment terms/invoice billing