Snow Plowing Forum banner

operating a tractor on the road and a noise question

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  rory breaker 
#1 ·
I am new to the business and I have the opportunity to take on 2 small townhouse complexes. This would be sort of side job work. I would be doing this on contract and then picking up additional work in my immediate area if I can. I am considering using a John Deere 2305 with plow, blower and sweeper. I'm leaning toward the JD primarily because I'm pretty sure I can travel on the road with no insurance and just a slow moving vehicle sign (Ontario, Canada). It's 750m from my house to the job site. Please correct me if I am wrong on this one.

My main worry with the JD is noise. Would the diesel tractor be too loud running the complex at 5am? And would the power of the JD be enough to handle a heavy snowfall? I have attached a picture of the site. I am responsible for ONLY the common areas and no individual driveways. Thanks for any help or suggestions.

See less See more
#2 ·
rory breaker;2105754 said:
I am new to the business and I have the opportunity to take on 2 small townhouse complexes. This would be sort of side job work. I would be doing this on contract and then picking up additional work in my immediate area if I can. I am considering using a John Deere 2305 with plow, blower and sweeper. I'm leaning toward the JD primarily because I'm pretty sure I can travel on the road with no insurance and just a slow moving vehicle sign (Ontario, Canada). It's 750m from my house to the job site. Please correct me if I am wrong on this one.

My main worry with the JD is noise. Would the diesel tractor be too loud running the complex at 5am? And would the power of the JD be enough to handle a heavy snowfall? I have attached a picture of the site. I am responsible for ONLY the common areas and no individual driveways. Thanks for any help or suggestions.