Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, my name is Fitz and I live in Nebraska. I asked a question on the Lawnsite and got sent here.

Let me start off by saying this is my first year doing snow removal so I'm not sure how to handle this issue.

Some of my clients are getting their driveways cleaned by neighbors which are unwanted by my clients and myself. They do half ass clean up jobs and are costing me money.

BTW- I do snow blowing and shoveling!

How do I fix this issue in the future?

· Moderator, Friend, Angel
1,321 Posts
I have had this happening in the grass cutting business. You would handle this the same way. Get the owner to contact the neighbor. That is what I do. One of mine told the neighbor: I appreciate you trying to help me, but I have hired someone to take care of my property. Really not your responsibility to talk to the neighbors

· Registered
760 Posts
Hey everyone, my name is Fitz and I live in Nebraska. I asked a question on the Lawnsite and got sent here.

Let me start off by saying this is my first year doing snow removal so I'm not sure how to handle this issue.

Some of my clients are getting their driveways cleaned by neighbors which are unwanted by my clients and myself. They do half ass clean up jobs and are costing me money.

BTW- I do snow blowing and shoveling!

How do I fix this issue in the future?
So random Good Samaritan neighbors?
That's not a problem

They did something "nice"
You show up the job is half assed
You still do it
You still charge

Think about it like a lawn
You know what the lawn is supposed to look like and what it looks like when you're done.
That's what the customer pays for.

Doesn't matter if the neighbor cut the lawn
Never trimmed or blew it off and left mow muffins everywhere
You do your thing and finish it correctly

Same thing with the driveway
It's partially done
So what