Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Glad I found this forum, looks like there's tons of good info here.

I just bought a pick up with a Western plow. This has the basic hand-held straight blade controls. I've been looking at manuals and researching things, but still absolutely new to this.

I just dropped the blade on my cement drive. Pressing the 'Lower' button once the blade made contact with the ground, it felt like it was actually raising the front of my truck up. I don't know if that's really what's happening or if just getting the weight off the front of the truck makes it feel like that.

So my question is, what's the right way to lower the blade all the way down? How do you know it's all the way down?

Thanks for helping an absolute newbie.

· Registered
1,995 Posts
The front of the truck lifting indicates the weight of the plow is now on the ground.

Your controller might have a light that comes on indicating that it’s in float, which is what you want (so the blade will float on the ground contours as you plow).

Assuming it is a chain lift, there should be some slack in the chain when it is on the ground

Go to the Western website to get the manuals

· Registered
58,836 Posts
Well....if it's not down all the way, you won't be plowing any snow or making any noise.

That's stretching the limits of my correspondence classes from Buzz's people skills course.

· Premium Member
17,092 Posts
Well....if it's not down all the way, you won't be plowing any snow or making any noise.

That's stretching the limits of my correspondence classes from Buzz's people skills course.
Wait, I'm confused. So how do I know when the plow is UP? Cuz when I raise the plow I hear this loud whirring noise. But you said noise=down

· Registered
58,836 Posts
Wait, I'm confused. So how do I know when the plow is UP? Cuz when I raise the plow I hear this loud whirring noise. But you said noise=down
Yes

· Registered
58,836 Posts