Snow Plowing Forum banner

MM2 A-frame bolts loose

8K views 29 replies 8 participants last post by  Western1 
#1 ·
Good morning all,
I'm pretty new to this whole plowing thing, so please bear with me.

I have a Minute Mount 2 I purchased used, and the four bolts that hold the A-frame to the push assembly are loose.

I've gathered from the manual and from this thread (http://www.plowsite.com/threads/extreme-v-general-questions.130137/) that they are not supposed to be loose, but the guy who had the truck before me said that he couldn't ever get those bolts tight without bending something. Looking at it, there is a noticeable gap between the two pieces.

Is there a spacer or something that is supposed to go in there, or do I have larger problems?

#2 ·
I am guessing you have a v plow since that is the only MM2 I can think of at the moment with bolts in the A frame (actually called a H frame by Fisher) Once they have come loose it is next to impossible to get them tight again because the threads get damaged. They will need replaced. Post a pic of the bolts.

#5 ·
Sorry about that - it is a V. I had made the assumption that I would need to replace the bolts. My question is more about whether there should be a spacer of some sort in there, or if slightly bending the push assembly was normal/acceptable.

Photo attached is looking down from the top at the passenger side bolts.

Cloud Sky Wood Grey Gas

#7 ·
If it's an extreme V, those bolts should be carriage bolts. With the plow on the ground you have the ability to make a small adjustment to the attack angle, then tighten them securely.

#13 ·
Replaced the bolts with generics (3 inches was too long for the front set). Adjusted and tightened everything down. It didn't appear to actually bend any of the push assembly, as I had been concerned about.

I won't know until tomorrow what the impact of plowing was, but the impact on handling was tremendous.

#14 ·