Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I am not out of line by posting this in this section. With so many experienced plow experts on this site, I am hoping someone may recognize this plow hydraulic unit. For the last thirty years, it has been used as a lift for my homemade dump box, that is why there is a manual handle to activate the relay, and I replaced the oil filler bolt with an extended pipe and cap. My problem is that my motor has quit. I believe that I have found a motor but apparently it is available in clockwise rotation or counterclockwise rotation, and because I have no knowledge of make, or any markings on the outside of housing, I have no way to determine which way this turns. Does anyone recognize this perhaps 50 or so ?? year old unit. Thanks. Gas Auto part Plumbing fitting Metal Pipe
Wood Automotive lighting Gas Automotive wheel system Headlamp
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Rim Wood

· Registered
760 Posts
If I had to guess by looking at the way the springs are mounted to the brush holders in the 3rd image I would say clockwise looking down from the back of the motor to the front.
I'd probably pull the pump apart to double-check that though before I put in my order.

+1 @Mr.Markus suggestion tho...
Unless it smells like burnt wires, it probably only needs brushes and bearings which can be handled quickly and easily by a shop that rebuilds starters, alternators, and/or electric motors.
I'd probably start there first too

· Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·