Lift or ?? for 2016 Ram 1500

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by dsisson, Dec 10, 2018.

1. dsisson

dsisson Junior Member

I have a 2016 Ram 1500. Just put a new plow on the front. Honestly, I'm completely new to this. I'm using the plow just for my own commercial building (about 20 spots) and my little residential drive.

The plow makes the front end of the ram sag substantially. The dealer suggested I get a 2" lift kit.

I have no idea what I actually need. I know the 1500 is on the small side for plowing, but it won't get much use - probably 5 or 6 times a year.

Do I get an airbag thing that goes inside the springs? A 2" lift, but otherwise stock? Some other solution for this?

With the plow on, the hitch is about 4 inches above the ground. I was able to drive it home without any incident, but I can tell that the plow will be hard on the front end of the truck. Even the hitch is pulling the front end down a little bit.

Any suggestions would be helpful. I honestly don't know if I need to lift all 4 wheels, just the front, and even what I should buy. I don't know much about 4WD suspension.

I figure I'm buying something and taking it to a mechanic to install, but if there's some sort of airbag that would lift the front end and provide some more strength to the front end??

2. johnhenry1933

johnhenry1933 Senior Member

Hah. What plow?

If you lift the truck you will have to lower the mount so the angle is correct.

Bottom line: you may want to get the appropriate plow (smaller...lighter) so you don't have to monkey with the suspension.

3. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

How much ballast ya got in the back?

NYH1, JMHConstruction and Philbilly2 like this.
  4. OP
    OP
    dsisson

dsisson Junior Member

ha. I'm learning already.

No ballast in the back. Would this help/fix the problem? How much?

I figure the plow is already at the wrong height/angle, because the front is down too low.

5. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 PlowSite Fanatic