Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been working for someone else for the last three years doing snow removal just shoveling and pushing snow blowers and driving a plow truck . Now I have my own plow truck a 1/2 with a v plow And I’m not 100% sure what I should be receiving an hourly

· Registered
760 Posts
I've been working for someone else for the last three years doing snow removal just shoveling and pushing snow blowers and driving a plow truck . Now I have my own plow truck a 1/2 with a v plow And I'm not 100% sure what I should be receiving an hourly
Sometimes you just gotta figure it out

How much expenses do you have?
Fuel , payments, insurance, budget for repairs and replacement etc etc

How many hours are average per season in your area?

Divide your projected costs by the number of guessed hours add in your own desired hourly pay... add percentage for profit... it might not be the "right" number but it gives you somewhere to start

(12 hours per storm ... 15 storms a year is 180 billable hours... 25,000 worth of expenses divided by 180 is $139 an hour... hope you don't have that much in expenses or you'll never get anywhere!)

· Registered
1,141 Posts
I've been working for someone else for the last three years doing snow removal just shoveling and pushing snow blowers and driving a plow truck . Now I have my own plow truck a 1/2 with a v plow And I'm not 100% sure what I should be receiving an hourly
And you decided starting in Jan is the way to do this with pretty much 99% of all places of business already under contract.

Here's a hint, start approaching potential clients towards the end of July.

As for the pay, tpendagast is giving you some good examples there.

I would suggest subbing out for the rest of this season and getting your ducks in a row.

Search and read the posts here for a better understanding

· Registered
4,224 Posts