Snow Plowing Forum banner

just bought a truck, should I put a plow on it???

2K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  SnoFarmer 
#1 ·
Hello everyone:
I have been a member of various forums, but not of this one and I am new to the snow removal industry. I just bought a used Chevy Silverado 1500 for work/personal use and would like to put a plow in front of it. My Lawn and landscape business is in the fledgling stage, as I work full time in a similar industry. The truck was used, with 97000 miles on it, one owner and I was told he was an old farmer who drove it around very little. Doing the math, its like 6400 miles per year, and there is no proof of a beat up truck bed or plow abuse.
On to the topic at hand. I would like to put a plow in front of this truck. I also would like to beef up the front end a bit ( iv heard this is important in most cases) and also do not foresee keeping this truck for the rest of my life. I bought this truck because my explorer was having transmission and electrical problems that I didn't want to deal with sinking money into a losing proposition. As of now, I only have 2 paid driveways in town, and my own. I don't need anything too serious and would like to keep the cost down as I am not taking out any loans to fund this business.
I would like to get something middle of the road; something that is dependable yet financially on par with a small start-up. Hopefully down the road I will be investing more, but as for now, I need something residential. I looked at the "homesteader" from Fisher but it looked too easy...
Any suggestions would be great as I am wrecking myself pushing and shoveling as of now!!!!! I have an old fickle snow blower that I leave in my driveway; it's more time-efficient to shovel than it is to try and start that beast.

Thank you in advance!!

See less See more
#3 ·