HELP!!

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by casey rincon, Nov 10, 2019.

1. casey rincon

casey rincon Junior Member

Hello all, I am a novice plow guy i have an 1996 chevy s10 with a 7.5 foot western plow, I used to have a 6.5 Unimount that came with the truck. It was heavily rusted and after last winter i found this 7.5 footer on CL at a great price. I pulled up to the new plow, hooked it up and the plow functions worked great. however it was daytime and i never checked the lights. there is no power to the headlights on the new plow. im seeing new "harness" kits put how do i know what one i have. i see so many 9 pin 11 pin 12 pin. and thet all fit inside each other. im very mechanically inclined and can fix it or wore the new harness just need to know what one i need how do i decipher

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Did you ck with a test light to make sure you have no power to any of the lights?

Hows the ground wires?

3. OP
    OP
    casey rincon

sorry yes the amber / orange ( side marker ) lights have power on passenger side , no power to the square headlights. test light shows power only on one pin from the truck side i assumed was a "main" power should i have power to each socket will post pics in a few

4. cjames808

cjames808 Senior Member
    from SE WI

There is a storm coming. 1”-12”.

like above check for power and ground both sides.

5. dieselss

That'll get you started

Screenshot_20181006-190148_Drive.jpg

6. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite Fanatic

So everything works except the lights. If it's the same plugs, which it has to be. If the old plow everything works, it has to be in the new, used plow. With the plow connected what do you have with a test light? Are they factory light assembly?

7. OP
    OP
    casey rincon