Help with matching plow to truck

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by lake sarge, Nov 30, 2018.

1. lake sarge

lake sarge Junior Member

I have a 2014 Ram 2500 crew cab long box w/ .
    6.7 diesel, with plow package.
    i have looked at the various manufacturer's sites and am getting confused or am stupid.
    I realize there are weight restrictions, especially with a diesel. Don't mind putting on a leveling kit or timbers or both, or using ballast. I am not a pro plower, but have used multiple plow rigs and have a decent understanding of basics.
    Still have a year or so left before I run out of warranty, so that is a minor concern.
    I would like to plow my cabin road which is a 2 mile 2 track road, plus a few family drives etc. Am in the snowbelt of Northern MN. Currently looking at an 09 Blizzard 8100pp, potentially a good deal if I find a mount, can some of you experienced guys give me some advise on dealing with the limitations of my truck and what plows you would recommend?

2. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

8100 will be fine, just need ballast or counterweight and airbags.

Neither Timbrens or a leveling kit will help carry the weight, airbags will.

I've been running an 8611 LoPro on mine for 4 years. That's the next size up from the 8100. No plow prep and no warranty issues.

A v plow wouldn't be a bad choice either.

jonniesmooth, cwren2472 and NYH1 like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    lake sarge

lake sarge Junior Member

Front and rear airbags?

4. Mark Oomkes

Just fronts.

5. Mark Oomkes

I can't vouch for these yet, I do have a set waiting to go on.

https://timbergroveenterprises.com/

I will say if you can get a set of the Firestones...don't. I've blown out 2 so far. If\when another goes, I will be getting another set from above.

6. OP
    OP
    lake sarge

lake sarge Junior Member

Thanks for the heads up, I was just looking at the Firestones.

7. cl733

cl733 Senior Member
    from Canada