Snow Plowing Forum banner

Help me get up and running on my own

1K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Whiffyspark 
#1 ·
HELLO ALL!!!
I'm a newbie to snow removal but have been a contractor for about 15 years. This was my first season plowing, I was subbed out and had one of my own accounts last season, so I feel like I did alright. As far as this upcoming snow season I would like to get my own accounts. What I'm really trying to find out is what is the best way to estimate a job and how should I charge / how much should I charge on commercial lots. I'm also trying to figure out what are your protocols for triggers. Do you door to door solicit for new accounts?
Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
After one year and one account your ready to go out on your own?
Personally I would say stay subbing for a tad longer.

#4 · (Edited)
I started out on my own. I had a full time job as an auto mechanic and cut grass on the side for extra money. I got to where I hated working on cars and enjoyed mowing, so I decided to grow my business to the level that I could do it full time. Obviously, I needed a way to make money in the winter and snow and ice management services seemed to be the logical step.