Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a maintenance tech for a trailer community. I do all the snow removal for the community. The community have on road parking and the company im working for has a straight blade for this community im trying to get the company to get a v blade plow due to it takes forever to try n move snow from one end of the road to the other with out pushing it all in to the residences cars then making them shovel them selfs out. So im looking for pros and cons between straight blade and a v blade so i can present them to the higher ups to maybe persuade them to buy a v blade.

·
Registered
15,436 Posts
Alternate side parking and windrow it all to the opposite side.

If you’re gonna be pushing it down the road it’s still gonna take a while, at this point you need a tractor with a large pusher.

How wide is the straight plow and what type and size of truck are you using to plow with?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Font Parallel Pattern Number Symmetry
This is the layout of the community i plow the plow they have here is a western 8’ pro plow series 2 with a ford f-250 super duty pushing it with a little salt hopper spreader that goes in the hitch receiver.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The reason why i would like a v blade is so i could kick all the snow away from the residences cars. Then put it in scoop mode and move it from one end to the other with out having to do 100 passes.

·
Registered
3,492 Posts
V plows are nice. They are handy. They are expensive. Put box ends on your current plow. A plow with box ends will push more snow than a v the same size. Or, split the difference and put on a set of wings that are angled forward 30 degrees or so, when facing forward.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·