1. Podcast: Make Equipment Financing Work For Your Business
    The spring season is here, and if you’re a lawn care or landscape business owner planning to add or upgrade new equipment to your fleet, you’ll want to listen to Turf’s recent conversation with John Deere Financial about options in the market. Click here to listen
    Dismiss Notice

Hello from Wisconsin

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Jake's Lawn and Snow, Mar 20, 2020.

1. Jake's Lawn and Snow

Jake's Lawn and Snow Junior Member

Hello everyone,
    I have decided to start my own lawn and snow business in Wisconsin. Any advise you have would be greatly apreciated.

I have 14 years of experience in snow removal, between sidewalk crews, plow trucks, bobcats with snow buckets or cage plows, and salt trucks.

I think my biggest fear is going to be getting a small business loan to start up.

2. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 PlowSite Fanatic

If that is your big fear, why not save some money first and start your business using your own money?

3. seville009

seville009 PlowSite.com Addict
    from CNY

A very general comment - who knows what the economy will be like in the next six months (or whatever time period). It’s likely that many small businesses will not be able to recover, and there will be many people trying to do lawn and snow removal type work just to get by.

My personal opinion is that, unless you are already financially sound and could handle the financial risk of a new business failing, it would be wise to not dive into something new.

4. OP
    OP
    Jake's Lawn and Snow

Jake's Lawn and Snow Junior Member

I'm up in the air about starting next winter or next spring. Depending on the economy.

I'll try to buy everything by saving money. But a business loan would make sure I can buy everything I need.
    I understand why you suggest to save money and buy stuff. I'll try that route first.

FredG likes this.
  5. FredG

FredG PlowSite Fanatic