Goes Up, Left, Right, Down (well..not all the way down)

fudgeythewhaler

I am new to the plowing stuff.

Spent the day troubleshooting and got the plow to go up, left, right and down

Problem I am having is that the "down" won't go all the way down so the blade touches the ground but the ram is still really extended and tension on the chain.

I am thinking a sticking S1 valve.

Thoughts???

JFon101231

If it's going down and just stops after the weight is off, it's not likely to be an s1 (though that is possible). What I would do first is spray some WD-40 or silicone or whatever you have where the Chrome rod goes into the seal. It has worked for me before when I thought there were bigger issues. Sometimes things get very dry especially if they have been sitting awhile

(Other things like quill adjustment and/or the packing nut too right have never been things I've experienced unless when it's going down before the weight comes off VERY slow)

OP
F

fudgeythewhaler

I sprayed a little lubricant on the shaft and got it to do down a bit more. With that would you say rod is filthy? I will try again tomorrow after the lubricant sit some more. Thanks for the suggestions.

Hydromaster

PlowSite Fanatic
Lift it all of the way up ,
Put jack stand under it, to hold it all of the way up. Now set it down on the jack stand and
Shorten up the chain.
lift it up remove the jack stand and lower the plow. Use the plows weight to help collapse
The ram. You can stand on the plow frame to add more weight.

Hydromaster

PlowSite Fanatic
Sorry, my bad. I thought you had said that you needn't worry about pitting since fluid can't get to the top side if the ram where it might leak out. Since it's single acting and all

The nicks would have what to do with a bad gland/packing?

there shouldn’t be fluid on that side, and if there was it wouldn’t stop it from collapsing.

If there was fluid on stinger side the fluid would slow down the extension as it sprayed out of the dust seat.

cwren2472