Fisher plow not tripping

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Paslandscaping, Dec 2, 2019 at 4:43 PM.

1. Paslandscaping

Paslandscaping Junior Member

So I’m relatively new to snow removal. Been doing landscaping for the past 15 years and two years ago decided to jump into the plowing business. I’ve been subcontracting for the town and doing town roads the last two years. I bought a f350 dump has central hydraulics with a 9’ fisher minute mount from a town auction

So every time I go out and hit a object the plow bounces up high instead of tripping. The plow has a rubber edge with older beat up cutting edge on top of it. I’m wondering if it’s the trip springs, edge, or rubber edge that would cause this. So it forced me to learn where the manhole covers and dips in the road are in my section and raise the plow. I attached some pics and to me the factory trip edge looks like it was worn down to the correct amount but the edge almost looks bent to me from the first pic. I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to troubleshoot this issue. Thanks in advance.

F127107E-CA90-4F75-95DF-937F48BF50A2.jpeg

BCDE55AA-61B9-433C-9EC4-ECB50807A44C.jpeg

96293D9D-261E-4CBB-8854-26A1F6BE8385.jpeg

11F1E248-52FF-4695-80C5-E00D5027A2A1.jpeg

C1676250-D721-47CF-8E1C-0974F3A4D66A.jpeg

1DE37C2C-C7FB-45BD-A53C-54B5A4AB82AF.jpeg

3691FCC0-9EDC-426D-B387-C2A0CE5855C1.jpeg

2. seville009

seville009 PlowSite.com Addict
    from CNY

A trip edge will not result in a smooth trip; bouncing is normal.

my Western MVP is a trip edge. When I catch the grass/dirt along the edge of the driveway it’ll trip and the blade will jump pretty harshly

3. Mr.Markus

Mr.Markus PlowSite Fanatic

Its the springs kicking the edge back that causes it to jump, its doing what its supposed too.

4. OP
    OP
    Paslandscaping