First year snow plowing wish me luck

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Jacksonpowers, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Jacksonpowers

Jacksonpowers Junior Member

my name is Jackson this will be my first year snow plowing I’m completely new to the game. I’m 26 i live in Michigan I just financed a 2003 f350 6.0 dual rear wheel 108k miles it came with a 9’ straight boss plow thats all I have for equipment I will be buying a 2 stage snow blower. I have two full time jobs and want to replace both with snow and ice management and lawn care landscaping. I have 2 properties Both gas stations owned by the same people I’m only plowing them. one is very small the other is mid sized both for $100 on call right down the road from my house. There’s lots of new homes being built in my area and there’s some industrial parks near me that I have dropped off business cards with quotes on them already they are very large for $200+ per push.I have “SnowPlowing” decal on my truck with my phone number. How should I go about getting more business? I have no problem going door to door. I really would just like lots of volume in one area should I charge same rate for a whole subdivision? What is your advise

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

You have insurance correct ?

3. cwren2472

cwren2472 PlowSite Fanatic

4. OP
    OP
    Jacksonpowers

Car insurance only. How should I go about getting insurance for my company?

5. cwren2472

cwren2472 PlowSite Fanatic

"Hello, Mr. Insurance Agent? This is what I'm going to be doing..."

6. OP
    OP
    Jacksonpowers

thank you!!!

7. framer1901

framer1901 PlowSite.com Addict

Two full time jobs and we're gonna plow snow on call.... Hmmmm Let me know how that works.

Snowplowing is a lifestyle if you want customer retention.

8. JMHConstruction

JMHConstruction PlowSite Fanatic

How are you bidding work without knowing your operating costs?

How did you come up with the numbers you're bidding?

9. OP
    OP
    Jacksonpowers