Snow Plowing Forum banner

DIGGER!

3K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  diggerman 
#1 ·
Hey... I remember you saying that you're in the sweeping business. What kind of equipment are you using? I'm just starting out. I'm currently using a broomer... but I'm looking into getting a Schwarze 348-I as well as another truck to plow with during the winter. I'd be interested in any advice you've got to give out...

-Tim

#2 ·
I have eight sweepers of one kind or another.
1 skidsteer broom

1 sweepster rear mounted broom

2 skidsteer pickup sweepers
1 MB
1 Sweepster

1 Applied Sweeper Green Machine

1 86 Tymco 350 regenerative air with suction hose,dual brooms,dual steer,mounted on Ford F700 w auto

1 95 Elgin Eagle broom mounted on Ford Forward control auto,dual steer, dual broom,capable of loading full height tandems.

1 98 Nitehawk,mounted on Chevy W4 chassis,with 350ci single broom single steer,with suction hose.

The reason we chose the Nitehawk is because it is a Hydro system so there is no second motor to maintain.It does not pickup dirt and sand as well as two engine machines but for picking up parking lot papers it works fine.The fact that my guys do not have to start a little Kubota when they go out on cold night wards of alot of problems.But I say again you do sacrifice performance.I have only been doing this about 5yrs so my first hand knowlage of the performance of a vast number of sweepers is limited.I have heard from alot of people that Schwarzes are very good machine but also very expensive.Tymco is also right up there as well, my 350 works great but the dumping system sucks in epic purportions.Our large Elgin is used more for a street sweeping contract we have with our city,they have their own air machine, we do the heavy broom sweeping.We also do other small communities as needed.