Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a brand new cat skid steer with a bucket. I’ve thought about selling myself and the cat to do snow removal. I have a bucket right now and I could buy a box. I’m curious how much my rate to charge a contractor would be with myself, machine with bucket and separately with a push box would be.

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
More info where are you at? Have you done before? Any skid experience?
I'm in the Toledo Ohio area. I do have experience with using for snow removal. I've operated equipment for 15 years. I've never used my equipment before. I've always worked for someone with their equipment. Generally we shut down over the colder months.

· Super Moderator
43,555 Posts
I have a brand new cat skid steer with a bucket. I've thought about selling myself and the cat to do snow removal. I have a bucket right now and I could buy a box. I'm curious how much my rate to charge a contractor would be with myself, machine with bucket and separately with a push box would be.
1* Since you've been running equipment and used a skid from snow removal coming up with productivity per hour should easy. You may want to include load and unload time.
2* Insurance cost, for the equipment, trailer, truck and Gen Liability (min of $2M coverage)
3* Operating cost for the equipment, trailer, and truck which includes finance payments, maintenance, repairs, tires, etc...
4* Salary

From here you'll be close to figuring out how much to charge

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I was initially thinking 125 to start myself. We don’t get snow that much so I’d imagine a long day/night being 6 hrs. Or do you charge for the machine to stay on site and then hourly charge for myself driving it.

· Registered
6,180 Posts
With a push box? Does that matter?. I have two machines no boxes so I'd go buy one if I could find a solid company to work with.