Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am an operations manager for a mid sized Landscape Company in the DC area. I am trying to work out a compensation plan for any salaried employees that happen to work in snow removal operations outside of regular business hours which for us is M-F 7:30am - 4:30pm. I was thinking of paying an hourly rate to salaried employees for this time worked outside of normal business hours or trading those hours worked outside of normal business hours for the same amount of time off of normal business hours depending on the situation. Basically I am trying to create a system that is both fair to the employee and the company. Has anyone else come up with a system that works well for the employee and the company?

· Premium Member
17,282 Posts
Hello all. I am an operations manager for a mid sized Landscape Company in the DC area. I am trying to work out a compensation plan for any salaried employees that happen to work in snow removal operations outside of regular business hours which for us is M-F 7:30am - 4:30pm. I was thinking of paying an hourly rate to salaried employees for this time worked outside of normal business hours or trading those hours worked outside of normal business hours for the same amount of time off of normal business hours depending on the situation. Basically I am trying to create a system that is both fair to the employee and the company. Has anyone else come up with a system that works well for the employee and the company?
Have you discussed it with the employees in question to see what they will even consider accepting?

My guess is that the employees are going to object to getting paid their regular hourly wage at 12:30 in the morning on a Sunday during a blizzard.

And they will probably really, really, object to offering them 8 hours time off on a Wednesday in exchange for the aforementioned labor...