Snow Plowing Forum banner

97 2500 won't start

1K views 17 replies 11 participants last post by  ajchuck 
#1 ·
Hey here is the deal... Yesterday I drove out to a buddys farm and drove the property with him, up and down hills through the woods ect. We get back to his house and bs for awhile and when we get ready to leave the truck won't start. I can't here the fuel pump truning on so I am sure that is it, but I am not sure the fuel pump is out. The truck runs fine all the time and now this.

Could there be somthing that would cause this, fuse bad wireing ect.

If I have to replace the fuel pump is it a nightmare?

Thanks Bossman

#2 ·
It is a good possibility that the fuel pump took a dump. Chevys are know for crapping pumps at random, with no warning. I have never done one before, but you do have to drop the tank (hopefully it is low or empty, they get REAL heavy) Get some new tank straps too as I am sure you will snap one and might as well put a fresh set on. The straps run like 30-50 bucks for both.

#3 ·
To diagnose the simple things first pertaining to the FP check the fuse in the under hood fuse boxed marked "ECM B" Will be a 20 amp fuse. Use a test light to be sure you have power BOTH in and out of the fuse. If that all checks out then you likely have a dead fuel pump. You can try the old trick of smacking the bottom of the fuel tank with a rubber mallet or block of wood to "wake up" the pump one last time in order to get the truck home. Works in many cases. :nod:

There is also a FP relay in the under-hood box, but the FP will still run with a defective relay.

FP replacement is easiest if you pull the bed off rather than dropping the tank, more so if has a fair amount of gas in it.

#6 ·
Based on experience, I agree it is easier to remove

the bed of the truck, rather than drop the tank.

#7 ·