Snow Plowing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone - looking for advice. I'm a commercial building contractor and I currently have a 1000' gravel driveway that I pay someone else to plow and regularly sand. My wife asked for a truck to periodically haul a horse trailer and a few kids, so I found her an '03 3/4 Yukon XL with the 8.1L gas engine in real good shape. The past owner used it to haul his two classic convertibles in a 24' box trailer.

I've made the decision to equip the truck with a plow and a tailgate sand spreader with the thought of clearing/sanding not only our own driveway, but possibly a handful of other residential and commercial clients around town. We get about a dozen allowable events a winter up here in Maine.

I'm getting mixed advice from a local Boss dealer - who is suggesting an 8.2 steel V with one of their largest spreaders - to a SnowEx dealer who is telling me that I shouldn't go bigger than a 7.6 straight blade and a much smaller spreader.

Thoughts on the proper setup for this truck? Thanks in advance!

· Registered
5,648 Posts
I've got a 2001 8.1 Suburban 2500with a 7.6 Western straight blade. 400ish foot long rural gravel driveway. Got a screaming deal on the plow (with another 2001 8.1 'burb attached (for parts)). Beggars can't be choosers, but I wish I had gotten a bigger blade as my rear wheels go outside my plow path when I turn.

I have no idea what larger plows the vehicle could support, but I'd guess there's a variety of larger V's that would fit.

Being that I only plow two driveways (mine and a distant neighbor's (for free) and I am cheap, I may add wings if the right deal comes along.

· Registered
405 Posts
Sounds like the Boss dealer is giving real world advice, and the SnowEx dealer is going by manufacturer recommendations.