1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Yet another Newbie question about...Snow Blowers

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by EnviroTeam, Sep 30, 2006.

1. EnviroTeam

EnviroTeam Member

I originally posted this at the bottom of another thread, I guess it should have been done here instead so I have just copied it from there...Sorry about that...anyway, any answers would be appreciated.

Hi guys, new to this forum and first time poster here...I have been plowing for a few years with a GMC 2500 4x4 and myers plow. This year I am going to get into more residential "in town" driveways so I am looking to purchase a walk behind snow blower. I have been reading the posts here and I see the simplicity and aerians mentioned most it seems. I was interested in the Honda's with the tracks but was steered away from tracked machines by a couple of people, their view was that if I am working alone I will be out of luck if it breaks down because you can't really move them on your own with no power. So, I was looking at a new 28" Toro, 10 hp with power steering. It has a real nifty joystick for controlling chute angle and pitch all in one control however the joystick is made of plastic and I am worried it will break when it gets cold. What does everyone think about the Toro's and/or what brand would all you experienced blower guys recommend? Any features I should look for, and is the power steering worth it?

Thanks guys
    Great site
    ET

2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic