1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

X Question Please Help

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by Bruinzfan, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Bruinzfan

Bruinzfan Junior Member

HI all. Newbie here, so please forgive. I have done the search thing and found alot of debates on an Excursion 7.3 with a blade on it, with regard to the front spring issue. I would like to know if it is possible to run a decent quality plow without doing the springs right away.

I would like to throw one on for this year and worry about the springs next year. Maybe even pick up a used one. But don't want to be riding on the bump stops every time I raise the plow.

I have owned Curtis 3000 Plows as well as Western Pro's in the past. Run on Bronco's with Air Bags and an on board compressor, so I am not totally naive to the whole front end issue.

Thanks in advance.

Keith

2. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Depends on what that front end is rated at. I bet with the 7.3 is right at the line of weight. The springs are not the only parts stressed. Then you have the lenght and sight lines of the truck. Just how squirrelly will the front end be with the weight on when driving? You need rear ballast too, which off set's front weight. Don't forget about the weight range of the tire's too. Auto hubs will scrape them self's quickly when used plowing.

3. gtmustang00

gtmustang00 Senior Member
    from Berlin

Do you have the x code springs? i believe those are the strongest factory leafs.

4. Bruinzfan

Bruinzfan Junior Member