1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Wow... I just have to share this !

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Durkis007, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Durkis007

Durkis007 Junior Member

Hey All.... Long time lurker here, and was finally thinking of getting into the biz.

I am a full time exteriors contractor, and was looking to supplement my business in the winter, as when its snowing, im not working.

I was ready to pull the trigger on a Boss Poly V DXT for my 2013 Ram 3500 Mega cab truck with the Cummins and Aisin tranny.

Well... before I go an spend the $$ on the plow, I checked with my insurance agent to see how much additional it would have been for plowing.... Now here is the kick in the Nu*s.

I have a Million dollar general liability policy already for my business. I figured I could add plowing for a few bucks more.... Oh NO.... Not even close.

My agent tells me I need a completely separate policy to the tune of somewhere between $3500 and $4000... I already pay in the neighborhood of $3200 for my GL policy... Crazy...

Needless to say I have put this plow idea on the back burner, especially since the season is half over in my area.

I hate Jersey!

2. d_charters

d_charters Junior Member
    from ontario

I pay $1000. for GL landscaping and $3500. GL for snow removal. and only $150. for Christmas light installation all with a 5 mil. liability

3. djt1029

djt1029 Senior Member

Welcome to the snow removal in Jersey....Check out Farm Family Insurance, they're local and fair...it's expensive still, but worth looking into

4. Durkis007

Durkis007 Junior Member

Hey DJT1029... Thanks for the info.... Whats the odds my actual initials are DJT also... small world.