1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Worth getting a diesel?

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by U1200, Oct 22, 2009.

1. U1200

U1200 Member

At the last minute I've been advised to get a plow/salter truck setup for this winter. This will be my first experience dealing with a pickup truck for any sort of plowing. My background is I've had 94, 97, 01, 02, 03 and now 06 Dodge all with Cummins and 5 or 6 speed manuals. Needless to say I love dodge/cummins trucks but want to try and be practical for once.

I want a 94-98 12V or a 94-02 360 2500. I'll have my 06 for any towing but feel more comfortable with a diesel since I know my way around them so much better. So would you pay the extra $3K or so for the diesel or settle for a 360?
  2. JohnnyRoyale

JohnnyRoyale 2000 Club Member

Go diesel.
  3. plowmaster07

plowmaster07 Senior Member

Well I personally would get the 12v cummins. Reason being, you obviously have had great luck with all of your trucks, you get more torque out of a Diesel rather than the 360 gas (I have the 360 in my truck). The 360 has plenty of power and torque, but cummins would definitely beat it. Plus if you know your way around the diesel's already, why learn about a new engine?? JMO.

Hang a 8 or 9' fisher on the front and go to work.

I would think that you want to go 24v 98-06 for your next truck. Potentially less repair on a newer truck, and better technology in the engine and they run a little quieter, but the 12v's are great from what people say.

good luck,
  4. jomofo

jomofo Senior Member