1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

worst season ever

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by grf_1000, Mar 22, 2010.

1. grf_1000

grf_1000 Senior Member

i have been plowing for 22 years. this,by far, was the worst season. as of saturday we were 92" of snow fall behind last year. among my commerical accounts i help take care of 160 gas wells plus all of the roads getting to them. on agv. those are plowed 15 times a season and they do play perrty well. this season we struggled to plow them 5 times and most were only done 4. this really hurts the budget. i guess i'm not picking up another loader and the two other plow trucks i had intented on getting for nest season.................. just ranting ant mother nature lol

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Go seasonal!

3. grf_1000

grf_1000 Senior Member

i do have a couple seasonal contracts which were the only ones that kept me going. no way in the world will the gas and oil industry do a seasonal contract. who would have ever thought in the snow belt in northern michigan that we would not even top 80' of snow fall. i checked, 2nd least amount since record keeping lol

4. Lux Lawn

Lux Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

I think the best is to have a combination of per push and seasonal.
    I do almost everything on a seasonal contract & would like to get more by the push. That way I would have a little motivation to go out.

5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

X2

I moved a couple over to seasonal this past winter, really glad I did. But I still would have been happier with 15 more storm to bill out on the resis.....

6. swtiih

swtiih PlowSite.com Addict