1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Working on Volume

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by jayman3, Jan 4, 2009.

1. jayman3

jayman3 Senior Member

I work as a sub for a local company and would like to get some of my own accounts for next season,I did work for myself 4years ago here in my town,but the lowballers are everywhere so I make more subbing and less headaches,the thing I notice here is that more and more contractors are working on volume instead of making decent coin on lesser accounts,It seems like it is a growing trend or is it just me that sees this.And if so do these guys end up making anything or just cover costs of operating.

2. ERCKWD

ERCKWD Member

I don't know what the economy is like up in Ottawa, but down here we are running into the same thing. It seems like guys are just trying to lowball to get work/volume, as I have told other guys in our area, if you everyone keeps prices up we all make a better living, but leave it to the one guy to low ball everyone

3. murray83

murray83 Senior Member

I think most times guys just wanna brag on how much work they have (my boss for example) will take any job for next to nothing just to say he has that lot and its a big game for these guys.

Honestly Jay if your happy with subbing and getting what you want for pricing stay with him,maybe get a few smaller jobs for yourself and with the big stuff act as the sub so the Case has something to do.

Doctor offices,small gas stations,resturants,appartment buildings small stuff you can bang off quick and profit more.

I wish you the best of luck