1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Working for a friend???????

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by woodacres, Jan 30, 2007.

1. woodacres

woodacres Junior Member

I have been working for a friend doing all his salting......SO I THOUGHT......he has been doing the salting himself ONLY when it is convenient for him like when the wifes not working and the kids are off to school etc. Meanwhile I am sitting at home, he has turned into a Jekyl & Hyde this year due to the light snow falls and the fact that he lost over half of his contracts this year. I have been giving him a super rate for the last 3 years which is $65.00 per hour for my tandem dually. I feel that he owes me a little more respect, I too have bills to pay. Besides when we do get a snow fall that is pushable he calls me out only because he cannot keep up with both the plowing & salting. I guess my 1st mistake was working for a friend & my 2nd was not having a contract. I have been thinking of charging him a new rate of $85.00 seeing that I consider my self as a sub for him. What is anybody's take on this?

2. DJ Contracting

DJ Contracting PlowSite.com Addict

Is that all you have is a salt truck?
    Do you have any of your own accounts?
    I would do the same If there was no money comming in, think about it he has no money comming how can he pay you you'll both have to work things out in a slow year.

3. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

Changing the game plan mid-season is not really a good idea. Just next year draw up an agreement that works for you. Working for friends without contracts almost always ends up sour.