1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

Wiring up strobes

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by snowplowpro, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. snowplowpro

    snowplowpro Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 901

    HEY GUYS I NEED A LITTLE HELP HERE MY QUESTION IS FIRST IS THERE A WEBSITE OR SOMETHING THAT WILL GIVE ME A DIAGRAM ON HOW TO WIRE UP A 3 WIRE STROBES I HAVE TWO OVAL AMBER STROBES FROM PETERSEN
    AND THEY HAVE 3 WIRES ON IT 1 WHITE 1 RED 1 BLACK I WANNA HOOK THEM UP TO A TOGGLE SWITCH HOW DO I WIRE THEM UP WHAT GOES WERE ALSO I WANT THEM TO BE WIRED TOGETHER ON SWITCH. :mechanic::help:
     
  2. kitn1mcc

    kitn1mcc Senior Member
    Messages: 516

    you need a power supply
     
  3. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    He right! Then you'll wanna hook the male Pins in to the wires that'll go into the power supply, then put he clips on. Fir the switch here's a diagram!

    Even though it's for whelen, it should help!
     
  4. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    http://www.whelen.com/install/131/13196.pdf


    There ya go
     
  5. snowplowpro

    snowplowpro Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 901

    thank you guys for all the help

    were would i get a power supply:mechanic:
     
  6. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    Whelen!!!!!!
     
  7. snowplowpro

    snowplowpro Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 901

    thank you for your help :mechanic::sleeping:
     
  8. SafetyLighting

    SafetyLighting Senior Member
    Messages: 601

    Are you sure they are strobes and not LED's? What is the model number?
     
  9. snowplowpro

    snowplowpro Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 901

    423sa was all i could get off of it but underneath that it said 12v/24v strobe so i dont know they might strobes if that number dont work let me know i will see if thers is another number there made by pirahana .

    thank you for helping me find this info out.




    96 f250 7.6 western unimount
    :help:ussmileyflag
     
  10. SafetyLighting

    SafetyLighting Senior Member
    Messages: 601

    Yeah, that is definitely not a strobe light. Strobes operate on 300 volts. The White wire is ground, the red wire is power, the black wire is a synchronize wire.
     
  11. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    What abuiut the green wire fir pattern?
     
  12. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    Then you're lucky you don't need a power supply! Just hook all the wires to a switch and hook it to the battery and throw a couple fuses in there. And if you don't have a pattern you can hook it up with s 22 guage wire...
     
  13. SafetyLighting

    SafetyLighting Senior Member
    Messages: 601

    Those only have three wires, and the pattern is preset.
     
  14. ajslands

    ajslands 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,033

    I thiught LEDs had like 82 paterns
     
  15. snowplowpro

    snowplowpro Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 901

    strobes

    :cool:not these they just flash the ones i got
     
  16. SafetyLighting

    SafetyLighting Senior Member
    Messages: 601

    Yeah, LED's don't do anything but light up. It is the circuit that drives the LED's that determine the flash pattern.