1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Winch Question

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by kreagerm, Dec 8, 2011.

1. kreagerm

kreagerm Junior Member
    from MD

Hey Guys, I'm new to plowing, but this site seems very helpfull Thumbs Up

I was hoping I could please get your opinion on a problem I just ran into.

I have a newly installed Snowbear BB100 on my F250 and everything was working great then all of a sudden, when I hit the up button the plow would raise to full height and lock up the winch. The switch connected between the battery and the control module just keeps clicking, like it is trying to raise the plow further. Even if I turn the control switch on/off switch to off, it keeps wanting to raise the plow. So the only way to stop this is to unplug the connector from the winch to the main control box. Does it sound like the 35amp switch connected to the battery went up and is stuck in the open position? or could it be something else? Any help would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,
    Matt

2. delagem

delagem Member

Hi Matt,

I'm not familiar with your electrical setup, but as I understand Snowbear is now using two SPDT relays inside a small plastic housing, with a simple rocker switch in the cab to control the plow. This is the same thing I converted my Snowbear to years ago, using a kit from Superwinch.

The problem is, these little relays are borderline not up to the task. Fine for limited duty, but if you were to run the winch for, say, several minutes straight, or two-block the plow in the full up position, you'll melt one of the relays.