1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Will this work out??

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Fox255, Oct 30, 2013.

1. Fox255

Fox255 Junior Member
    from PA

Hello, I'm new to plowing, and this site. I plan of buying a truck with a plow. Nothing special, no stars, bells, and whistle. Just a mid sized truck and a strait blade plow. I plan on only doing a few residential driveways. Especially family, and friends. No Commercial. If I would right of a contract with all the info and have a line stating I'm not responsible for any damage or liability to slips and falls. My main question is could I get through the first season doing that. No insurance, just having contract signed stating no liability on me. I just want to see if the business is there for me, if so I plan on getting insurance and turn plowing in to my own business.
  2. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

My suggestion is to go sub for someone else first.

That said now to answer your questions. Having them sign something saying you are not liable does NOT meant you can't be sued. What are you gonna do if your truck breaks? Most normally auto insurance will not cover any damage you cause while plowing for money. Are you available 24/7?

Really think you should consider subbing for a few years before going out on your own.
  3. Sawboy

Sawboy PlowSite.com Addict

No insurance? Stay home. Do it right, or stay out of the business. Sounds harsh, but this business doesn't need anymore "un"professionals.
  4. Fox255

Fox255 Junior Member
    from PA