1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

will this work? gmc k3500 v-plow

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by m_i_k_e, Jun 26, 2008.

1. m_i_k_e

m_i_k_e Junior Member

hey guys. i am new to plowing this year with the truck but i have been running the skid steer for a few years. anyway, here is my problem. the truck i want to put the plow on is a 1996 gmc k3500 4x4 with the 6.5 turbo diesel crew cab and 8ft box. the plow i want to mount is westerns mvp 8' 6" in poly. i talked to one dealer near me and we set everything up, he said everything was a-okay to go. i called another just to compare prices and he told me there was no way i could mount a v-plow on that truck and even a straight plow would be crazy because the weight on the front would be too much with that diesel engine. he even went as far as to say that a v-plow would lift the back tires off the ground without 2000lbs of ballast and that if i did ballast it would cause the plow to scrape on even small inclines. now im new to truck plowing but that seemed a bit crazy to me. i realize just because of the sheer length of the truck and the added length of the v-plow that this thing will be a monster to drive, but im okay with that. anyway, what i want to know is if i put some timbrens in turn up the tbars and put some ballast in the back, how this would work with an 8' 6" v-plow? or would it just be a waste of time?

any help is greatly appreciated!

thanks,

-michael

2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707