1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Wideout Leaking oIl

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by Lawnman883, Feb 5, 2011.

1. Lawnman883

Lawnman883 Member

We have a new wideout in it's first season and today was using it pushing back piles after the large storm a few days ago. After I parked the truck I noticed plow oil leaking from the bottom of the pump housing. I'm new to the new western pump style and housing so I dont know what to check or look for. Also not sure how to check the oil even :(
    They are calling for snow tomorrow and i need to at least top it off to be ready to go if we get 2".
    Thanks for any suggestions!
  2. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member

To check the oil pull the square headed pipe plug from the back side of the reservoir. It's pretty easy to see near the top of the motor / pump assembly. The filler plug / breather is the gray thing right on the top of the motor assembly right under the light bar where it is really hard to put oil in! With the plow down and the wings retracted fill fluid in the top hole just until it runs out the back one. Done!