1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

why even have insurance ?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by nekos, Jan 18, 2007.

1. nekos

nekos Senior Member

i have been plowing snow for about 5 years and i have just had my first claim.
    to make a long story short. i cliped a plastic sign attached to one of those automatic bank teller thing's. there was just about 0 damage don't to the thing just the plastic tube up top poped out.

anyway the claim was for $5000 and about 20 minutes after i filed the claim it was denied and i was droped from my insurance. they basicaly said that because i was useing a plow truck plow snow that i was not covered on my $1millon liability policy. :dizzy:

any one ever have problems like this with their insurance ?

2. Midwest BuildIt Inc

Midwest BuildIt Inc PlowSite.com Addict

Was snowplowing listed on your insurance. not all policies include it, and if you didnt ask/tell them about it . yes they will drop you.

3. lodogg89

lodogg89 Senior Member

i told my insurance agent that i needed it for plowing and he said okay, i was covered. Did you ever talk to them about it, or just assume you were covered.

4. nekos

nekos Senior Member

oh ya it was listed, this was the exact policy the company i work for < Snow Systems> requires you to have.

my auto insurance does not cover plowing snow. basicaly i was told when the plow is on the ground im not coverd by my auto insurance that's when the comerical liability kick's in. it even say's in the comercial liabilty policy that property damage caused by plowing snow is covered !

< .edit. >
    i don't think i explained that right the first time.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  5. lodogg89