1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Who's liable?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by cwags73, Oct 4, 2007.

1. cwags73

cwags73 Junior Member

This may sound like a dumb question but I'm new to being paid for snow plowing. If I'm contracted to plow townhouses and someone (not an employee) slips and injures themselves, is the property owner liable or am I? I carry insurance but want to make sure about this before actually signing a contract.

2. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict

You would be held liable, im sure the property owner could be held too.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

The lawyer representing the injured person will name everybody remotely involved and let the judge sort them out.

4. rfed32

rfed32 Senior Member

you...we had this happen a couple years ago but nothing ever endin up going thru with it...they realized the fallin person was at fault wearin 6in high heals to work in the snow...so it ended like that

5. CNY Plow

CNY Plow Senior Member

Who's contract

Is this your contract or the property owner's contract?
    I state specifically that there is no guarantee that we will leave completly BARE pavement - we all know that's impossible. I do not accept liability, and I do not sign someone elses contract without my lawyer reading it.

6. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

:nono: There are some things you can not sign away.

If you did something wrong or did not do something that you should have you are liable.

7. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

You don't have to; the judge will give it to you.

8. cjasonbr

cjasonbr Senior Member
    from Mass