1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Who uses Smartlock, are they worth it?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by sqdqo, Nov 10, 2011.

1. sqdqo

sqdqo Member
    from mqt mi

What are your opinions of the Smartlock cylinders? Are they worth the money? Do they work well not a nuisance?
  2. supercuts

supercuts Senior Member

im no expert, but both my vplows have the smartlock and my dealer said he wont evensell a v-plow without them. they keep the plow in the selected postion when back blading. cant compare it to a vplow without them because ive never uesd one without. they do what they are supposed to do. straight blades dont need them since it has one pivit point and one side will have preasure holding it in place
  3. BossPlow2010

BossPlow2010 PlowSite.com Addict

It works, not a nuisance at all.
  4. milwaukeevtwin

milwaukeevtwin Senior Member

I would have a hard time spending the money id i did not buy them with the plow i did not have them on my rt-2 but every time i order a new plow i get them and luv them
  5. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

They are a must have!
  6. secret_weapon

secret_weapon Senior Member

Yes, yes and yes. I do a lot of backdragging and they are a must. Worth it!
  7. got-h2o

got-h2o 2000 Club Member

I couldn't imagine using a V plow without them. I'd be banging my head against the steering wheel.
  8. kurtandshan

kurtandshan Senior Member

I dont have them....haven't had an issue
  9. JohnRoscoe

JohnRoscoe Senior Member

I honestly thought they were a named feature on ALL Boss plows, and not just an option until I read this.

I can't imagine who would have installed a Boss without them.
  10. coldcoffee

coldcoffee Senior Member