1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which Tires To Plow With?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Allagash, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Allagash

Allagash Senior Member

I'm in the market for tires for my new (to me) plow truck. It's an 1989 Ford F250 with a Meyer plow. The tires on it now are shot. They're 235/85/16's. I'm new to plowing and not sure which brand and style of tire to put on this truck. My questions are many....

1) Size. This is the stock size for this truck. Would you recommend staying with this size or going with a slightly larger tire?

2) Style. What's better: All Season, All Terrain, or Mud Terrain? I've got a new Ford that I don't plow with that's my daily driver, but I like this old truck and will no doubt put some miles on it during the summer just because.

3) Brand. I've been on www.tirerack.com reading reviews on tires and they're all over the place. Some people like a certain tire in the snow and other don't.

4) Where's it made? I'd prefer to buy an American made tire, but I'm not completely stuck on it.

I've got a buddy who's plowed for a few years and he recommended going with a 10 ply all season tire. He says the 10 ply will handle the front end weight of the plow better and the tires won't roll as much and will wear better.

Any Help?
  2. mikelawtown

mikelawtown Senior Member
    from Mass

If your looking for just snow or all around, look into the coopers. best i have used ever, cant rem the name. i think cooper discover AT maybe
  3. slapshotmike24

slapshotmike24 Member