1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which Skidsteer for blowing? (non commercial)

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by k9Truk, Nov 5, 2009.

1. k9Truk

k9Truk Junior Member

I realise that's a very open question, so I'll lay out my situation which should narrow down the options.
    Complete noobie to skidsteers, (and snow removal) so I have no bias towards any manufacturer and absolutely no experience driving/working any of them, so ease of use is a must.

I'm in Alaska which hugely limits the number of choices I have ( or else my budget gets spent on shipping rather than the machine).
    I'm looking for something to use to primarily snow blow my dog yard perimeter fence, an acre area in front of our shop and a half mile of driveway. Summertime use will be dirt/sand moving and putting in new trails through our land. The land is flat, dry and heavily treed with black spruce. So, that's the rough outline. Ive got around 20K to spend. I've found a 2000 Bobcat 773 with 1200 hours with an Erskine snowblower or a Cat 226B for about the same money, but I'd still need to buy a snowblower for it. Do you guys have any opinions or suggestions? Thanks P.

2. ponyboy

ponyboy Senior Member

a blowe is around $5k max but you probally find a used one cheaper and a good used skid steer is $15k for a 2004 or 2005 model i like new holland i never used a cat buy the 773 is a good med sized machine what is his price i would not pay more than $12 -$14k for that set up it is almost 10 years old even with the low hours it cou;d be abused

3. JaimeG

JaimeG Senior Member

A 2008 model with 500 hours could have also been abused, I don't think the age of a machine affects whether it was abused or not.