1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which plow is compatible with my truck?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snowman71, Oct 16, 2003.

1. snowman71

snowman71 Junior Member

I currently drive a GMC Sierra 4x4 Z-71. 6.5 Diesel 1/2 ton. My question is what do I have to do (if anything) to prepare my truck for a Fisher plow, and what size should I go with?...or am I better off to go with an older 3/4 ton and what size plow for it? Any answers are well appreciated. P.S. Obviously...I'm new to this and looking for any info!

2. Mike 97 SS

Mike 97 SS Banned
    from U.S.A.

Welcome aboard! Get yourself some Timbrens for the frontend to help hold the added weight of the snowplow. You can also crank up the torsion bars. Do you have a regular cab truck? 6' or 8' bed? I also have a half ton truck, but mine is a gas motor, not a diesel. The diesel is alot heavier on the frontend already, so you are kind of limited to what you can hang on there as far as a plow goes. 7.5' is the biggest I would go on a half ton truck, just my oppinion. You can go the same size as me, but you may not be able to get the heavy plow Fisher puts out in the 7.5' size. You might be better off sticking to the lighter one they make, or go with a plastic SnoWay plow. Im sure more people will be responding to this shortly. Mike :waving:

3. wxmn6

wxmn6 PlowSite.com Addict