1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which plow is best for my truck

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by Nate2418, Oct 9, 2016.

1. Nate2418

Nate2418 Junior Member

Hi all 1st post for me.
    I have a 05 2500hd duramax crew cab. Im new to the snow plowing this upcoming season. I am hoping to get some pointers on which used snow plow would be best for my truck... I am aware of the weight of the diesel engine and I dont want to get too heavy of a plow and destroy the front end. I will be plowing some driveways and alot of school parking lots. I have been looking at a western mvp v blade 8.5. All steel and ive been looking at a fisher 8-10 wide out. I am worried the wide out is too heavy. So any input is appreciated, thanks

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Welcome to the site.

An 9ft Vee ,( direct lift)
    And may I sudjest a talegate spreader to counter act the weight of the plow.

Also, you should be budgeting in wear and tear. Nothing lasts forever.
    It's part of the business.

Good luck.
    As it sounds like you have the cart before the horse.

BUFF likes this.
  3. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict

What Sno said. Used Vees can be beat up. Give it a good look over. If your doing schools make sure you have the correct insurance. By the time you but the used plow. Then all the truck side stuff, you may only be 1500 off a new plow, that comes with a warrenty.

4. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

The best blade you can get is the one with the best dealer support that's open in the middle of the night when it's snowing and you've got customers that have to be cleared before morning.

5. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic