1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which Plow for F250

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by axe124, Feb 18, 2010.

1. axe124

axe124 Junior Member

I have a 2004 f250 CC/SB FX4 with 6.0 Diesel, and I'm wanting to put a plow on it. I have never done any plowing before, but a friend of mine is in the business and wants me to start helping him. He says to go with a Western plow because they are simple and easy to take on and off. He has a Chevy that came from the dealer with plow installed and all of the right components (ie; heady duty shocks, bigger alternator, etc)

My F250 is stock. I have been told that I also should look for something lighter because my truck is not equipt with the right components, but also to get something with good down force pressure. There are so many options out there it is crazy.

What all you running on your Super Duty's....Brand, size of blade, etc. I welcome all suggestions, and would love to see some F250 photo's.

Scott

2. plowguy43

plowguy43 PlowSite Fanatic

You truck can handle any plow made, it doesn't need anything else. Sure its a heavy setup due to the Diesel and Crew Cab, but you have leaf's up front and the frame can handle the weight. If anything put on an add a leaf or timbrens but I doubt you'll need that.

Plow choice is up to you, and dealer support is key. Are there a bunch of Western dealers nearby that can help in the middle of a storm if you break down? Best of luck.

3. firelwn82

firelwn82 PlowSite.com Addict